Choosing and Using Color!

3 Apr

It’s Spring and soon, you’ll be seeing color everywhere.  Crash course…beware of the boring neutral!

As an accessories designer (hand-woven scarves), I’m always playing with color combinations.  I found an app that will be the replacement for my beloved color wheel.  Sherwin-Williams ColorSnap app is amazing and super easy to use.  I took a picture of my tan leather coat and push a few buttons and presto out came a screen of color combinations that I would not thought of!   This app lets you pick a main color, get a palette and from there you can adjust hue and saturation.  This app will impress you!!

Sherwin Williams ColorSnap Cost: Free Overview: Take a photo of a favorite object or color inspiration and match it to a Sherwin-Williams paint color. Pros: Custom color matching makes it easier to find the right color.

We tend to choose solid colors for everything and wonder why we look so boring.  My challenge to you is to add texture, pattern and please add a fun color to your neutral.  We tend to shy away from unusual color combination, this season we can get away with more interesting combinations such as watermelon and navy.

Add a splash of color to your outfit, make up, shoes or nail polish.  Be fearless and creative; add blues, greens, red and oranges into your life.  Go modern preppy with greens & pink or do rich & exotic with jewel tones for some fun personality!

Don’t let accessories be an afterthought….use them for an effect.  Use contrasting colors or a pattern so YOU become the focus.  You will be so surprised at how different you will look and how easily the colors will flow!

Related articles

Choose a stand out shade & be BOLD!

Laugh Loudly…♥Kisses

Jackie

6 Responses to “Choosing and Using Color!”

  1. ArtsyArchitette April 3, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Hi there! I wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogger Award! Read more on it here:
    http://artsyarchitette.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/thank-you-ive-been-nominated-versatile-blogger-award/

    Blogger Love!

  2. Jacquie (#2) Morales April 4, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Good morning my favorite blogger!! I’ve been meaning to comment on a few of your very inspiring and informational blogs but haven’t had a chance to get to a laptop (I receive your blogs via email which is very convenient!). I wanted to inform you that I read this blog about colors, textures and prints and decided to go outside by black and grey “uniform box” I fall into so often for work (also very easy when you’re up at 4:30am :)) and went for a bright coral polyester blazer with a floral print blouse and lavender wedges with my black slacks today! I thought you’d enjoy hearing that I read your beautifully colorful blog, took it to heart and acted immediately towards the cause!

    Looking forward to future blogs!

    You’re dutiful follower Jacquie (#2)

    • Jackie Steiner April 9, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Wow…That’s a huge compliment! Thank you so much Jacquie (my #1 blog follower) ♥
      I’m glad that you’re enjoying my blog!!
      xoxo Jackie

  3. Paula Parisotto April 9, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Thanks for the info on the great app. I have another color app but it doesn’t recommend color combinations. Thrilled that this one does. Thanks much!

  4. Barbie May 3, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    What a great idea to use a color app! I just downloaded it. You know I love your fashion and style! I’m so excited to keep reading. Love it! Barbie

    • Jackie Steiner May 4, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      West Coast Barbie~Glad you enjoyed!!!
      Laugh Loudly…♥Kisses Jackie

Leave a Reply

