Are You Healthy & Happy With Your Eating Habits?

31 Aug
Love it, hate it (okay, who really hates it?), food is necessary.  Food is fuel.
Personally, I LOVE food and firmly believe that healthful food can taste amazing.
The other day I was asked what I consider healthy eating and what diet I follow (like high protein or low-fat).  For me personally, I try to avoid artificial ingredients and overly processed foods, never add salt to my food and I make most meals from scratch.  I try to limit the amount of white/simple carbs I consume.  I eat a good amount of protein, but I get it from a lot of different foods.  I don’t restrict my fruit due to the sugar, I eat an abundance of fruit and vegetables (well over my 5 a day).  That is my secret to my weight maintenance in regards to my eating.  Not a secret, just sensible eating.  Oh and for the record…I do eat Taco Bell late night after a night of drinking with friends.  We are all human!

Ideally everyone that is aware of being healthy would cook completely from scratch and use only ingredients that they grew themselves…but realistically it’s not going to happen that way for most of us.  The key is to always make the best decision possible and enjoy what you have.

Money is tight for a lot of us.  Yet we still strive to eat healthy food and be able to provide snacks and meals for ourselves and our family.  It can be challenging,  but I have made a list of ways you can eat healthy while on a budget!  Just like anything it takes a lot of planning in the beginning but eventually you will be used to eating differently that it will become second nature.
  • Eat breakfast…#1 rule for me!

  • Make your own food –  Cook from scratch and eat at least ten meals a week at home and plan one splurge meal a week.
  • Buy in bulk – I shop the bulk food section for my dry goods like rice, legumes and spices.  I save a lot of money this way, especially with spices! Buying in bulk does not mean buying 20 pounds of an item.
  • Take inventory of your kitchen – Before I do my weekly shopping trip I take inventory of my pantry, fridge and freezer and make sure I don’t buy something that I already have.   Buy only what you can eat, don’t over shop.  I have never been one to make meal plans but this would help with making sure you only buy what you need.
  • Look at your portion sizes – Proper portion sizes will shock you, we are all over eating!

  • Learn how to read food labels –You need to know what you are eating.  Stop looking at the nutrition facts first.  Remember you are what you eat!  Start with the ingredients list.  If you can’t read or understand what most of the ingredients, it is NOT FOOD and your body doesn’t know how to digest it.  There are some really great products out there but you have to look closely to find them.

  • Let go of processed food – Guess what… you don’t need it! Eating healthy means to eat as close to the Earth as possible. Have picky kids?  They are only picky because they have not been made to eat a certain food.  Have less processed food in the house and your family will start reaching for carrot sticks instead of crackers.  Unprocessed foods are typically foods that you either know what they are (an apple), or something where you know exactly what each ingredient is.  If you can’t pronounce it or don’t know what it is…don’t eat it!

  • Eat fruits and veggies-every single day! – Fruits and veggies are healthy.  Period.  Nobody will ever convince me that I need to worry about the sugar content of fruit, the fat content of avocados, or the starch content of potatoes.  Nope, not gonna happen.  I will always eat as much fruit as I want (of course I don’t gorge myself on it, or anything for that matter, but I eat 5-6 servings a day).
  • Think long term – This is not a temporary diet ,you are making a life style change.  Instead of buying a box of crackers buy a bag of snap peas (my favorite crunchy snack!).  It is a transition and eventually you wont even look through the packaged food isles any more.
  • Make the time – We are all busy.  Life isn’t slowing down and for some of us the thought of being in the kitchen cooking can seem daunting.  I challenge you to make the best of it and enjoy it.  Don’t think of cooking as a chore, think of it as a celebration.

I am dedicated to the marriage of healthful, easy and absolutely delicious food.  It’s possible.  Promise.  Even more, I am passionate about feeding myself and my family as nutritiously as possible, even on a budget.

How much time do you spend looking into exactly what you are eating?  How closely are you looking?  Are you truely happy with how and whay you are eating?

I am an untrained home cook, if I can do it, YOU can too!
Always love your body and do the best you can with what you have!!
4 Responses to “Are You Healthy & Happy With Your Eating Habits?”

  1. wartica August 31, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    That second image was always my problem; I’d train like a beast , but eat a lot of garbage on the weekend–no more though 😉

  2. pancakestuesday September 24, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Well said! I also like to cut out as much processed foods as I can. As a teacher, I 100% agree with your comment that if your kids grow up eating healthy foods, they will learn to like healthy foods! I cannot stress enough the connection between learning and healthy eating. I see way too many kids with sugary, empty calorie lunches and it affects their performance in the classroom.
    I’m totally LOVING your blog!! If you ever need any recipes, etc… come on over to Pancakestuesday! I’d love to have ya! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eating out on holiday on a Budget - July 2, 2013

    […] Are You Healthy & Happy With Your Eating Habits? […]

Leave a Reply

