Love Your Body & Live Today!

28 Sep

Self Hatred Takes A Lot Of Time & Energy. 

Deciding to not enjoy the here-and-now because you’ve decided to wait until you lose weight will leave you feeling deprived and will often lead to more negative feelings and behaviors.

Obsessing about you body weight, nutrition plan and exercise program will leave you tired and depressed.

You have a choice.  Here are three steps to learn how to love your body and improve your body image.

  1. Set a realistic goal.  What is the lowest weight you have maintained as an adult for at least one year?
  2. Manage negative and irrational thoughts.  We could never imagine talking to others as we talk to ourselves.
  3. Get some help from friends.  Surround yourself with positive people who inspire, challenge and support you.

It is sad when I meet people who are caught in the, “Geez, if I could just lose an extra 10 pounds, than I’d be happy” syndrome. 

What they don’t realize is if and when they lose the weight, they’re still not satisfied.  It’s a vicious cycle that never ends unless we learn to love the body with have right now, not tomorrow or next month or next year.  Learn to live in the moment and experience joy in your life.

A few years ago my friend Pati and I read in a magazine (I wish I could find the article) that said on average, people think over 300 negative thoughts a day.  It went on to explain the “clicker” method of negative thoughts.  My friend Pati surprised me one day with a gift on my desk at work.  I laughed when I opened it…it was a clicker.  I keep it on my desk as a daily reminder.

One day I was thinking about the 300 negative thoughts a day and  I wanted to know if that was true…so I started “clicking.” First, I counted my negative thoughts.  Then I counted my positive thoughts.  Give it a try…you too will be shocked at how many negative thoughts go through your head before lunch time.  Limitless is the best word to describe the power and potential that is available to us when we channel and control our thought process.
A clicker, an inexpensive, handy tool that can help you created a more consistent, positive thinking.  What a great idea!  A “thought clicker”  start clicking!  A happy thought is a click away!

It’s OK to want to make health improvements, but you can’t hate and despise the state you’re in right now.  We are often our own worst critics and can be so hard on ourselves.

We have to practice. Practicing love, kindness, patience – is no different from practicing a sport, art or instrument.  Just because we aren’t born with a certain quality or skill – doesn’t mean we can’t develop it.  We have every right to that quality, especially if we are willing to put in the time, pay the price…and practice.

Remember, that thin thighs, a small butt and a six-pack set of abs is not the ticket to a meaningful existence.  Fill your life with interesting people and you’ll enjoy a much higher quality of life.

Each night before you fall asleep, make a mental note of what was the best part of your day or something you experienced that you really appreciated or enjoyed.

3 Responses to “Love Your Body & Live Today!”

  1. pancakestuesday October 1, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    This post has put me in such a great mood! Which is hard to do today, since I’m dying of a cold! lol. Thanks for the post! 🙂

    • Lips, Hips and Fashion Tips! October 1, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

      Your comment just made my day! THANKS!!! I have a post coming soon that makes me think of your “chips” post. I don’t really write about cooking but my husband think I need to write one about the potato chips I make. Have a GREAT week…hope you feel better soon!

      • pancakestuesday October 1, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

        Oooooo! I can’t wait to read about your potato chips!!! Can’t wait to read about them! 🙂
        And thank you… I hope to at least be off the couch by tomorrow lol

Leave a Reply

