Color Me Happy: Daffodil Yellow

12 Jul

Just like its cheerful floral namesake, this confident yellow

will make your mood even sunnier on warm summer days.

Yellow has also been known to bring energy and even a sense of comfort when it is present. When we are more comfortable in our own skin, this can make us more extroverted, and more comfortable around others.

photo 1

Why I love it:

Unexpected and daring, daffodil ensures all eyes will be on you. ” Your going to turn heads when you walk into a room,” says designer Michael Kors and he adds, “I don’t see a problem with that!”

I haven’t always loved yellow.  My husband and I thought for a long time that this bright sunny shade looked bad on me until we found the right shade and the correct top.  We found a great Sky strapless top in a daffodil yellow floral pattern.  The yellow looked great against my chest but looks horrible next to my face…go figure!

yellow-fashion-paula-patton-kirsten-dunst-ashley-olsen-solange

How to wear it:

You can wear it head to toe, or you can scale it back to just one piece.  A yellow bag makes a white blouse and khaki skirt go from boring to sensational in one easy move.

I have a hot pair of yellow strappy sandals that I wear in the summer and it never fails that I get a tons of compliments.

photo 4

Play well with:

Basics such as black, white or nude complement this shade.  For a bolder contrast, experiment with tangerine, deep blue and even purple.

photo 3

Adjust your makeup:

Adding a hint of daffodil yellow eye shadow to your lids is the perfect way to accent your eyes. Try a bright yellow shadow with any conservative outfit to brighten your daytime attire. Imagine wearing your yellow eye shadow with a sunny yellow bikini on the beach

283757_10151611755670970_84829537_n

If you’re not sure how you’ll vibe with bright yellow makeup, start small. Give your nails a coat of sunny yellow paint to try out this bright shade. Yellow nail polishes look flattering on light to deep skin tones.

011110-Yellow-400

I had someone ask me this question: What color hair accessory would be best for a yellow dress with a gold chain attached ?

I would suggest an electric blue headband might do the perfect color blocking, something purple like a purple bow/ headband or even black/red would work.

imagesCAGLXJMH

Yellow makes me feel “sunny” or happy, bright and cheerful!

pink lips WITH SIGNITURE words above it

2 Responses to “Color Me Happy: Daffodil Yellow”

  1. Must Have Boxes July 12, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    Yellow is such a fun summer color.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. Artistry By Veronica July 13, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    I am soooo in love with these yellow heels!! My favorite color is yellow and I can rock those with so many of my outfits! I think a shopping trip is in order! thanks for the post

Leave a Reply

